Skip to content
June 21, 2008 / Marco

CNET Reviews Nokia N78 Cell Phone with Mixed Results

When a smartphone reaches consumers and I can’t review it myself, I tend to listen to what other reviewers say. In the case of CNET, however, I don’t listen to their reviews – I oftentimes rely on them. I just noticed that CNET has reviewed the N78, a cell phone by Nokia, and it gets a not-so-exciting score of 7.3. The comprehensive article starts with the following statements:

  • The good: The Nokia N78 features a 3.2-megapixel camera and integrated GPS for navigation and geotagging capabilities. The smartphone also offers U.S. 3G support, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth.
  • The bad: The N78 didn’t have the best call quality, nor did it produce great pictures. It’s also expensive.

Apart from the aforementioned issues, the review mentions that the N78 has weak speakers in spite of the fact that I’ve been told by many individuals that its speakers are pretty much similar to those of the N95 and the N81. It seems to me that CNET reviewers aren’t interested in S60 3rd Edition Nokia handsets because a smartphone like the N82 also gets the same 7.3 score. Interestingly, at one point Nokia 5300 XpressMusic was their favorite handset with its 8.3 score. Do you think the N78 deserves a higher rating mark?

Related Info: Nokia N78 Firmware V12.046

Nokia N78 Firmware V11.043

Nokia N78 Owners Manual

Nokia N78 Great For Audiophiles

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stephen / Jun 24 2008 2:02 am

    No idea! But I will hopefully have a better idea later this week being I will be getting my hands on a N78-3 Nam edition.

  2. Amir / Jun 25 2008 1:01 am

    Well, Steve, I hope it proves to be your N73 killer! Seriously, I’d be glad to know how you compare it with handsets like the N73 and the N82.

Leave a Reply

