Skip to content
April 11, 2008 / Marco

The New Nokia Software Updater is an Annoyance on Vista

How many times have you experienced the feeling of frustration when all technological enhancements do nothing but nullify your efforts? This has happened to me a few times, but I just had the first incident of that sort in the arena of smartphones. To be more specific, the interaction between the smartphone world and the PC world created this first but familiar feeling.

Two days ago I got the news of the release of a new firmware update, V20.0.062, for the N82. As I reported it here, I decided to update mine in 24 hours in order to make use of its fabulous features and bug fixes. I updated my PC Suite to V6.86.9, connected my recharged N82 to PC Suite, brought up Nokia Software Updater, and was told that I had to get the latest NSU release or I wouldn’t be allowed to continue. Having been a good listener, I downloaded the latest NSU release, installed it, restarted my Windows Vista Home Premium to be on the safe side, and repeated the previous steps all over again. So far so good.

The new firmware update for the N82 is about 99.4MB, and I spent about 3 hours on downloading it. I had to go to a computer center to gain access to a pretty decent ADSL connection as I don’t have one at home. Anyway, as the file was downloaded, Nokia Software Updater started copying the downloaded data to my N82 and told me to wait for approximately 15 minutes. I waited for more than 45 minutes but the 15-minute waiting time was on the screen without any signs of progress. As I was thinking about the next step, Windows Vista displayed the following error message and put a damper on my thought:

Microsoft Windows

Nokia Service Layer Host Process has stopped working

Windows can check online for a solution to the problem.

Check online for a solution and close the program

Close the program

View problem details.

Feeling as petrified as you might imagine, I closed the error window, killed Nokia Software Updater via the task manager, and tried to start the poor N82 which seemed to have been hit by a disaster. I was unable to get the phone rebooted until I removed the battery, reinserted it and tried again. The N82 rebooted with the old V11 firmware release, and I was over the moon!

Having experienced such a huge problem, I was still determined to update the N82. So far I’ve tried five times and have received the very same error message. My extensive web surfing indicates that I’m not the only person experiencing this issue because many users are grappling with the latest NSU release on all variants of Windows Vista. Does Nokia suffer from a paucity of Vista alpha testers? All I can say at this moment is that I’m a bit frustrated due to the fact that neither do I have an XP machine to start from scratch nor do I have enough time to go to a computer center which provides ADSL connections for a fee. This is also a bit strange because the previous NSU release used to work quite well with Vista.

Last but not least, the whole experience has taught me a trick. When you download a firmware update for your Nokia handset, its related files are stored in the following directory on Vista:

C:\Program Data\Nokia\Nokia Service Layer\A\nsl_service_module_00001.

As I’ve copied the folders inside this directory to a different location, I guess I can now wait for a new Nokia Software Updater release, copy these folders to their proper place after reinstalling the new NSU release and shun downloading the whole firmware update. My claim is based on the fact that at this time and with each update effort, Nokia Software Updater doesn’t download the whole firmware before the error window pops up – it just checks for the update and skips the download phase because the needed files are already on my hard drive and haven’t yet been transferred to the N82. Only time can tell if my so-called discovery is worth rejoicing.

Have you experienced the same problem on Vista? If so, have you resolved it? I’d be glad to know how.

Related Info:Nokia Software Updater Down For A Day

Vista Support Removed From NOkia Software Updater

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Wesley / Apr 13 2008 6:47 pm

    Hi, I saw this solution on the website http://www.symbian-freak.com and it worked for me on my laptop runing Windows Vista Ultimate.

    “my solution:
    my phone was shut down and there was these error message with the service layer host process. there were 15min left, but nothing happend. so I closed the software updater with the task manager and started it again. I did not disconnect and restart the phone. so when I restarted nsu, it was searching my phone and after a while there was a message, that the phone was disconnected while the last update and I can retry it. then it”was updating !!! it only took 5 minutes… and now I have v20 on my n82”

  2. Amir / Apr 14 2008 1:03 am

    Thanks, Wesley, for sharing this tip. Unfortunately it didn’t work for me when I was trying to get my Vista to finish the update. In my case the updater didn’t recognize the phone after it was shut down and NSU was killed via Task Manager and restarted. I guess I should try this more carefully next time if Nokia doesn’t make a new NSU release available to address the issue. Fortunately everything is up and running again here — courtesy of Windows XP SP2.

  3. rudo / Apr 14 2008 11:02 pm

    Thanx, for me that solution works on vista for my N95

    when msg “Nokia Service Layer Host Process has stopped working” occures
    do following:
    1.) kill the NSU via task man
    2.) start NSU again
    3,) start update process (like your phone is on and connected)
    5.) when it says cannot connect press Start/Again button
    6.) ignore recommendation to pull out battery from the phone (to start it up), but you would connect charger at least :o)

    7.) repeat step 5 more times , for me it needed 3 tries to go on
    also remember do not disconnect cable/phone when frozen only try “the solution” from Wesley
    :O)

    once more thanx for hint
    my N95 has now ver. 21.0.016 (before 20.0.015)

  4. Bertrand / Dec 16 2008 5:29 am

    Hi Folks,

    What I did was, open NSU folder and change the software properties to run it with XP SP2 compatibility. Done!

    Unfortunatly my E65 was already up to date… πŸ˜‰

    Good luck!

  5. Paul / Feb 19 2009 2:20 pm

    Stop the ISC sharing service in vista …. run the nokia update … restart the ICS service …. This worked for me

  6. Asaad / Apr 5 2009 1:41 am

    Thanks Paul. It worked for me. I didn’t expect that this can solve the issue.
    Thanks

  7. Bart Wiegman / Apr 17 2009 3:32 pm

    WOW! ICS that was it! How did you know Paul?

  8. Mika / Apr 25 2009 3:32 pm

    Daaamnnn Paul ur da best stop ics and ur phone is updated πŸ˜‰

  9. dheeraj / May 2 2009 1:48 pm

    thanks paul,
    but in what way i stopped the ISC sharing service in viats.
    since it is not shown in task manager.

    thaks in advance

  10. Julius / Jun 23 2009 6:12 am

    I found a solution, i just copied the data over and ran it on windows xp πŸ˜‰

    Vista still has much love from me though πŸ˜›

    And with your suggestion bout the firwmare location, its been changed in the version i got (the latest afaik). It was in C:\ProgramData\Nokia\Nokia Service Layer

    on xp it goes in the documents and settings\all users\nokia\nokia serice update e.t.c.

Trackbacks

  1. How to Finish Updating Your Firmware Using Windows XP « Mobile Space

Leave a Reply

