Skip to content
April 4, 2008 / Marco

IM+ All-in-one Mobile Phone Messenger V7.06 Available

As usual, Shape Services released an update to the popular IM+ All-in-one Mobile Messenger for the S60 platform, V7.06, without a changelog. To update your application or to download the trial, visit this page. I’m wondering if they’ve fixed the sluggish performance of the application on the N82 and the N95 specially when contacts are being loaded.

Related Info: Mobile Messenger V7.08

Mobile Messenger V7.09

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jonathan Mosen / Apr 5 2008 10:22 am

    Hi Amir, for me, the issue with IM+ on the N82 goes beyond sluggishness. I’ve left it connecting for a long time, but have never actually seen my contact list ever appear on the N82.

    This is a shame, as I am a big fan of this app.

  2. Amir / Apr 5 2008 5:20 pm

    Hello Jonathan,
    I have the same issues with IM+ Mobile Messenger on my N82. It seems that the application disastrously tries to load contacts and makes the handset sluggish. Quite interestingly, this issue doesn’t blight IM+ for Skype. Perhaps I’m being Pollyannaish to wait for a fix with each and every IM+ Mobile Messenger release.

  3. Jonathan Mosen / Apr 5 2008 11:45 pm

    Well I don’t think it is at all unreasonable to expect a product we’ve paid for to work with one of Nokia’s flagship phones.

    I’ve written to Shape Services, sent them logs, installed test builds and all kinds of things, but with each version, the problem remains. I write to them again and they simply ask me to repeat the process, wanting more logs. Surely someone there can get their hands on an N82 and fix this! Perhaps if there were a way to generate more noise about this, they’d take the problem seriously? Hmmm, how about trying to interview their CEO for your blog?

  4. Amir / Apr 6 2008 4:56 am

    Good job, Jonathan! Testing an application like this should take a lot of time. I’ll definitely try to contact Shape Services on Monday and ask for an interview. I hope I can get their CEO involved. Will update you on that as I also think IM+ is one of the best messenger applications. It’s a shame that Symbian screen reader users haven’t yet been provided with the opportunity to rely on one or two applications in the field of VoIP.

  5. Jonathan Mosen / Apr 6 2008 9:48 pm

    I agree Amir. I think it would be prudent for the screen readers to support Fring fully. It works well for voice, but given that it also connects to a range of IM platforms, support for the text chat feature would be welcome.

Leave a Reply

