Skip to content
January 31, 2008 / Marco

What is running in the background on your cell phone?

When S60 FP1 devices were being manufactured, everyone tried to make sense of what the Fp1 platform was to offer. The benefits are numerous, from faster reboot time to the availability of more RAM and a tweaked OS. However, one of the neat features of FP1 devices is related to how users can tell whether an application is running in the background without having to go to the “task manager”. This has become possible via the addition of a new icon to the menu. When an application runs in the background and you reach the name of that application on the menu, a new icon will notify you of its activity in the background.

What does this mean? It means that a screen reader like Nuance TALKS can easily label that icon, and users can also do it themselves. To do it, first press TALKS key+long 4 to activate the TALKS Graphics mode. Then go to the menu, open an app like Contacts, and press the Menu key to move to the Menu again without actually closing Contacts. You’ll notice that TALKS reads the name of 3 icons before it says “Contacts”. Now move to the Contacts app, close it, and move to the Menu. This time, TALKS just reads the name of 2 icons because Contacts is no longer running. This helps you become familiar with the icon name which is used to indicate if an application is open in the background.

Having recognized the name of that icon, open an application from the Menu, return to the Menu without closing that application, locate the application you’ve opened, and use the TALKS Object Viewer, TALKS key+long Select, to locate and label that icon. Alternatively, if you own an N82 and want to make use of this feature without labeling that icon, just post a comment and I’ll send my labeled N82 icons to your email address. For your information, when you send a comment to my blog posts, I receive an email which tells me what your email is.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Tom / Jul 30 2008 11:55 pm

    I have an n82 and would be grateful for your prelabled icons….

    use of this feature without labeling that icon, just post a comment and I’ll send my labeled N82 icons to your email address. For your information, when you send a comment to my blog posts, I receive an email which tells me what your email is.use of this feature without labeling that icon, just post a comment and I’ll send my labeled N82 icons to your email address. For your information, when you send a comment to my blog posts, I receive an email which tells me what your email is.

Leave a Reply

